Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards winner announced

The communities of Nundle, Jerilderie, Gloucester, Kurri Kurri, East Maitland and Orange came out big winners at the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards for 2013. 

Each town was named as winners in their population categories for the highly competitive Bush Spirit Award.

Boomi, Bowraville, Kyogle, Young, Broken Hill and Wagga Wagga can also be proud of their achievements and received a Highly Commended Awards for their local projects. 

After many months of assessing and judging the highly anticipated Keep Australia Beautiful NSW Tidy Towns - Sustainable Communities Awards were held November 1 - 3 in the 2013 Overall Award winning town of Armidale.

The Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards is the largest practical environmental program for regional NSW. 

Now in its 33rd year the program recognises groups and individual efforts that protect, preserve and enhance local environments and communities across regional NSW. 

Almost 250 delegates converged on Armidale, eager to discuss the issues affecting their communities, share insights, look at solutions, meet with others passionate about their community and of course hear the results. 

Chief executive of Keep Australia Beautiful NSW David Imrie has been impressed by the depth and scope of the entries in this year’s Tidy Towns Awards Program.

“The calibre of all towns this year has made for a very competitive awards program. What these towns have been able to achieve is truly inspirational,” Mr Imrie said. 

“I would like to thank and congratulate the NSW Government who have shown us great support and tremendous environmental leadership through their 2021 plan and the Waste Less Recycle More initiative.”

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide